

THE FREDRIC S ZUCKERMAN PRIZES Rules

Background

Two prizes in the Discipline of History have been established from a contribution made to the University by the Zuckerman family in memory of the late Fredric (Ric) Zuckerman. The prizes commemorate his passionate commitment to both scholarship and the teaching of history at the University of Adelaide. In particular, they recognize the high value he placed upon two subjects: Russian History and the History of the Holocaust.

Value

The overall value of the Prizes was determined in May 2012 following a targeted campaign to raise funds to honor the late Fredric Zuckerman. The donations from this campaign were then added to the initial setup contribution of \$5,000 made by the Zuckerman family.

These Prizes will be awarded in perpetuity through the interest on the invested sum providing the annual Prizes.

Each prize will be valued at \$250.00.

Eligibility

Two separate prizes of equal value will be awarded by the University annually to:

- (a) the student completing the best essay or thesis as part of their undergraduate or honours study on a topic relating to Russian History; and
- (b) the student completing the best essay or thesis as part of their undergraduate or honours study on a topic relating to the History of the Holocaust.

Selection of Candidate

The Discipline of History Assessment Monitoring Committee, or their equivalent, will award the prizes to the authors of the best essays (as described above).

If there is no candidate of sufficient merit in a given year for a particular prize, then that prize will not be awarded. Instead that money will be used to increase the value of the next year's relevant prize.

If there is more than one candidate of equal merit for either award, then the relevant prize shall be shared.

Variations

The University may vary the rules from time to time in a manner consistent with the original objectives of the prizes.

The value of the prizes and the fields of the essays are to be reviewed by the Zuckerman family in collaboration with the Head of History, or their equivalent, no more than five years after the first prizes are awarded.