

THE COLIN HORNE MEMORIAL PRIZE

Background

In 1999, Professor Colin James Horne bequeathed \$3,500 to the University of Adelaide to establish an annual prize for the best study or essay on a poet or an aspect of poetry in English to be called the "Colin Horne Memorial Prize".

Professor Colin James Horne was the Jury Chair of English Language and Literature at the University from 1957-1977.

Rules

The following rules are hereby made:

- 1. The name of the prize shall be 'The Colin Horne Memorial Prize'.
- 2. The value of the prize shall be \$200 or as otherwise determined by the Faculty.
- 3. The prize shall be awarded annually to the first, second or third year English student who, in the opinion of the Head of Department (or his/her delegate), has provided the best study or essay on a poet or aspect of poetry in English in that year.
- 4. If, in any particular year, the examiner/s considers that no candidate is suitable for the prize, then no award shall be made.
- 5. If, in any particular year, the examiners deem that two or more candidates are of equal merit, the prize shall be divided equally among them.
- 6. These rules may be varied if at some time in the future if the Faculty considers it prudent to do so, but the title and general purpose of the prize shall not be changed.

Rules updated and approved 20 March 2015