Skip to content

The Graham Lawton Prize for Geography

(Please note: this prize is currently under review)

Graham Henry Lawton, B.A., B.Ed. (Melbourne), M.A. (Oxford), F.A.S.S.A., was appointed Reader-in-charge of the Department of Geography in 1951, established the Honours School of Geography in 1952, was appointed Foundation Professor of Geography in 1959, occupied the Chair until his retirement in 1977, and was awarded the title Professor Emeritus in 1978. Whereas the sum of $1000 has been paid by private subscription to the University for the purpose of providing a prize in his honour, the following rules are made:

  1. The prize shall be known as "The Graham Lawton Prize for Geography".
  2. The value of the prize shall be $250, unless otherwise determined by the Faculty of Arts.
  3. The prize shall be awarded to the student who obtains a first class Honours degree and who is placed first in the order of merit, provided that in the opinion of the examiners the candidate is of sufficient merit.
  4. If the examiners deem that two or more candidates are of equal merit, the prize shall be divided equally among those candidates.
  5. These rules may be varied by the Faculty of Arts from time to time but the title and general purpose of the prize shall not be changed.

Faculty of Arts
Ground Floor, Napier Building



T: +61 8 8313 5245

Opening Hours

Mon, Wed, Thurs & Fri: 10.00am - 4.00pm
Tuesday: 11.00am - 5.00pm

Find Us Online

Faculty of Arts on Facebook   Faculty of Arts blog   Faculty of Arts YouTube