Skip to content

The M Rees George Memorial Prize

In 1933  the South Australian Branch of the League of the Empire and the Old Scholars of the Advanced School for Girls paid £200 to the University to establish a prize in French in memory of the late Miss Madeline Rees George.

This is an endowed prize with the capital held in the University’s Endowment Fund and the income distribution each year used to fund the prize.

The Rules for the Prize were set by the donor in 1933 and not by the University itself. The requirement that the M Rees George Prize be granted only to female students studying French as part of the BA was a position held by a private citizen in 1933, and not one which the University has itself chosen to adopt.

The following rules are hereby made:

  1. The prize shall be called “The M Rees George Memorial Prize” and is available for award annually.
  2. The value of the prize is $250 or such other amount as the University shall from time to time determine provided that the value of the prize does not exceed the annual distribution of interest available from the Endowment Fund.
  3. The prize shall be awarded to a female student who has shown the highest academic merit in French ISA and French ISB undertaken as part of the degree of Bachelor of Arts. 
  4. Should there be no candidate of sufficient merit in any given year, then the prize shall not be awarded that year and the funds will be added to the capital sum in the University’s Endowment Fund.
  5. The University may vary the rules from time to time in a manner consistent with the University’s legal obligations and policies.

Rules approved by Deputy Vice Chancellor & Vice President (Academic) 21 August 2017

Faculty of Arts
Ground Floor, Napier Building



T: +61 8 8313 5245

Opening Hours

Mon, Wed, Thurs & Fri: 10.00am - 4.00pm
Tuesday: 11.00am - 5.00pm

Find Us Online

Faculty of Arts on Facebook   Faculty of Arts blog   Faculty of Arts YouTube