Lunchtime Concert - Viola Recital

Keith Crellin OAM  viola
Michael Ierace  piano

Hindemith Viola Sonata in F, Op. 11 No. 4
Gaigerova Suite for Viola and Piano, Op. 8
Enescu Concert Piece for Viola and Piano

As profound as the viola’s unique timbre, Hindemith’s Op. 11 No. 4 is a cornerstone of the instrument’s repertoire and a key work in the twentieth century’s neoclassical style. Varvara Gaigerova’s Suite for Viola and Piano, filled with lyricism and grandeur, undoubtedly deserves a place in the spotlight. Originally an examination piece for the Paris conservatory, Enescu’s Concert Piece for Viola and Piano is a brilliant and virtuosic work filled with modern harmonic colouring and broad lyrical melodies.

Concert Series 2021
Tagged in Lunchtime series, Elder Conservatorium of Music