Sketches of Spain

Inspired by Rodrigo’s iconic Concierto de Aranjuez, Miles Davis’ and Gil Evan’s masterful work Sketches of Spain takes centre stage in this program celebrating the evocative sounds of the wind orchestra.

This languid and dreamy soundscape is contrasted with the operatic drama of Bizet’s Carmen Suite, with Paul Hart’s light-hearted Circus Ring serving as a delightfully cheeky palate cleanser.

Elder Conservatorium Wind Orchestra
& Band of the South Australia Police

Luke Dollman conductor
David Polain conductor
Dustan Cox saxophone*

Miles Davis Sketches of Spain*
Paul Hart Circus Ring
Bizet arr. Takahashi Carmen Suite

Tagged in Concert Series, Evening Concert, Elder Conservatorium of Music