Skip to content


The Department of English and Creative Writing offers a Master of Philosophy (MPhil) and a PhD program.

  • Information for Prospective Students

    Prospective postgraduate students are expected to have obtained a recognised competency in either English or Creative Writing such as an Honours degree or a Research Master degree or a coursework Master where they have scored highly in the research component. The process is highly competitive and publications markedly increase the chances of success.

    • Learn more about eligibility from the Adelaide Graduate Centre
    • Review our staff research interests to check for a potential supervisor
    • Consider if you're eligible for a domestic or international scholarship
    • Applicants to Creative Writing postgraduate programs are also required to submit an additional application to the Department of English and Creative Writing. Information on this application process is available here.

    Note: to be competitive for an international PhD scholarship you require a high grade, first class honours degree or an equivalent Masters coursework degree with a substantial theses component.

  • Recently Completed Postgraduate Student Theses
    Anne Bartlett: Knitting. Anne Bartlett's PhD thesis 'Knitting: A Novel: A Retrospective View' was published by Penguin in Australia and the UK, and by Houghton Mifflin in the US.
    Ken Bolton: At the Flash & at the Baci. Ken Bolton's PhD thesis 'At the Flash and at the Baci' was published by Wakefield Press as a collection of poems.
    Corrie Hosking: Eating Lolly. Corrie Hosking's PhD thesis was published by 4th Estate (HarperCollins) and launched at Adelaide Writers' Week 2008.
    Stephen Kelen: Earthly Delights. Stephen Kelen's PhD thesis 'Writing the Goddess' was published by Pandanus Books as a collection of poems.
    Stefan Laszczuk: I Dream of Magda. Stefan Laszczuk won the The Australian/Vogel Literary Award for 2007 for his novel, I Dream of Magda, his PhD thesis. Allen & Unwin published I Dream of Magda in 2008.
    Ray Tyndale: Farmwoman . Ray Tyndale's Phd thesis, a verse novel, was published in 2008 by Wakefield Press.
    Malcolm Walker's PhD thesis, a novel for young adults called The Stone Crown, was published in Australia 2008 by Walker Books. Publication in the UK and the US will follow in 2009.
    Ian Bone: Love Cuts. Ian Bone's MA thesis was published as a novel by Penguin.
    Rachel Hennessy: The Quakers. Rachel Hennessy's MA thesis won the unpublished manuscript award in the 2006 Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature. It was published by Wakefield Press as The Quakers and launched at Adelaide Writers' Week 2008.
    Cath Keneally's MA thesis was published by Wakefield Press as the novel Room Temperature.
    Carol Lefevre's MA thesis has been published as Nights in the Asylum by Picador UK & Random House Australia.
    Stefan Laszczuk: The New Cage was Stef's Grad Dip work, and The Goddamn Bus of Happiness was his MA thesis which won the Unpublished Manuscript award in the Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature and was published as a novel by Wakefield Press.
    Tim Sinclair: Nine Hours North. Tim Sinclair's MA thesis was published as a verse novel by Penguin.

If you are interested in completing a higher degree by research studies in English and Creative Writing, please contact the Postgraduate Coordinator

Department of English & Creative Writing

Level 7, Napier Building


T: +61 8 8313 4249
School of Humanities