

## THE VERA MAY SWIFT PRIZE FOR HONOURS ENGLISH AND THE VERA MAY SWIFT SCHOLARSHIP

## **Background**

In 1994, Vera May Swift bequeathed to the University \$47,000 to establish a prize or scholarship to be known as the Vera May Swift Prize or Scholarship in English.

The following Rules now apply:-

## The Vera May Swift Prize for Honours English

- 1. 'The Vera May Swift Prize for Honours English' to be awarded annually, if there are sufficient funds, to the student who writes the best Honours English thesis.
- 2. If the examiners deem that two or more candidates are of equal merit, the prize shall be divided equally amongst the candidates.
- 3. If in any particular year, the examiners consider that no candidate is suitable for the prize, then no award shall be made.
- 4. These rules may be varied from time to time by the Faculty but the title and purpose shall not be changed.

## The Vera May Swift Scholarship

- 1. There shall be a scholarship called 'The Vera May Swift Scholarship'.
- 2. The value of the scholarship shall comprise an annual once-off payment of \$3,000 by the University to each year's successful Scholarship candidate.
- 3. It is the intention to offer one new scholarship per year, subject to available funds.
- 4. If there are sufficient funds from the annual drawdown, the remaining amount will be used to subsidise a prize at Honours Degree level in English.
- 5. The Scholarship will only be offered to students who are undertaking a Bachelor of Arts program of Study, or equivalent at the University of Adelaide, having completed first year with the highest academic merit and proceeding into second year, majoring in English.
- 6. The Scholarship shall not be awarded, if in the opinion of the Head of English, or equivalent, there is no candidate of sufficient merit.
- 7. The rules of The Vera May Swift Scholarship may be varied from time to time by agreement between the Head of English, or equivalent, and the relevant officer of the University of Adelaide, but the name and the general purpose of the Scholarship shall not be changed.

Rules approved by The Faculty of Arts Executive Dean 10 May 2013