

Japan Australia Friendship Association Prize for Excellence in Japanese Cultural Studies

Rules

Establishment

This Prize was established by a donation to the University by Japan Australia Friendship Association (JAFA), which was established in 1998 as a social and cultural non-profit volunteer organisation to promote friendship between Australia and Japan.

JAFA has generously agreed to donate \$500 per year for five years (2021-25) to support this prize.

Value

The value of the Prize will be \$500 per year. Successful prize recipients will also receive 12 months free membership to Japan Australia Friendship Association.

Eligibility

To be eligible for the Prize, candidates must be:-

- undertaking undergraduate studies with a major in Japanese Studies at the University of Adelaide; and
- have successfully completed the Asian Studies Culture Courses at Level II and/or Level III in the year for which the Prize is awarded.

Selection of Candidate

The Selection Committee will comprise the Head of School (Chair) or his / her nominee along with academic staff in the Japanese Studies Department and a representative from JAFA.

The Prize will be awarded to the candidate who has shown by his/her academic performance to be an outstanding student demonstrating the highest level of commitment and enthusiasm for Asian Cultural Studies courses in the year for which the Prize is awarded.

Additional consideration will be given to a student who has passed the Japanese Language Proficiency Test (JLPT) at N3 level or above in the given year and who has demonstrated outstanding voluntary commitment and cultural engagement within the Japanese community.

If there is no candidate of sufficient merit in any given year then the Prize will not be awarded in that year and the money will be used in subsequent years.

If there is more than one candidate of equal merit, then the Prize may be shared equally.

Variations

The University may vary the Rules from time to time in a manner consistent with the University's legal obligations and policies and in consultation with the Prize donor.

Approved by Interim Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Vice-President (Academic) 26 June 2020