Skip to content

Postgraduate Degrees by Research

The Department of POLIS has a long and distinguished record of postgraduate education. It offers Masters and PhD research degrees in POLIS, with candidates normally being expected to have qualified in the discipline.

Research students in the Department have an opportunity to work with leading scholars in their fields and have access to high quality research facilities including the largest library in South Australia. The Department offers all postgraduate research students an induction program that assists in developing research skills and in refining their research topic.

Research students are invited to contribute to staff / postgraduate seminar series and to occasional postgraduate conferences.

The Department offers both a PhD and a Masters degree by research. In the case of a PhD this would involve a thesis of around 80,000 words, in the case of the Masters degree, a thesis of around 40,000 words.

  • Information for Prospective Students

    Detailed information regarding postgraduate degrees by research, including eligibility requirements, is available from the Graduate Studies Centre website see e.g. the research student handbook.

    For information on scholarships, visit the Scholarships website.

    Applications for major round scholarships for research degrees are normally due around the end of October for Australian or New Zealand citizens or permanent residents, with a (smaller) minor round due the end of May but please check.

    There are currently four rounds of international scholarship applications.

    Note that international scholarships are particularly competitive and relatively few are awarded. To even be in the running for a PhD scholarship, you would normally require a high grade, first class honours degree or an equivalent Masters coursework degree with a substantial thesis research component (e.g. a minimum of 15,000 words). However, a Masters degree by Research (i.e. thesis only) and/or publications in scholarly journals would also be an advantage.

    A note on the personal qualities required to complete a higher degree by research

    Before applying for postgraduate study by research you need to think very seriously about whether you have both the right intellectual and personal qualities to succeed.

    You need to have a genuine love of, and enthusiasm for, learning that will sustain you over one long-term project of at least 2 years (Masters) or 3 years (PhD). You need to be an original, creative and innovative thinker with the analytical ability to identify the key information in a large mass of material. You need to be able to take advice and constructive criticism from your thesis supervisor while also being an independent thinker.

    You need to be hardworking, self-motivated and highly self-disciplined at both research and writing. You need to be able to plan your work step by step to meet a long-term goal. You need to have a track record of producing high quality work in a set time period (while not being an unrealistic or procrastinating perfectionist). In other words, you must be very good at setting and meeting deadlines. You need to be able to manage stress, or even anxiety at times, while continuing to produce and submit written work.

    In short, writing a thesis is really hard work but it is also an immensely exciting and satisfying achievement. If you have the above qualities and qualifications, we'd be delighted to hear from you (see contact details above).

    For all enquiries, please email the POLIS Postgraduate Coordinator Dr Jennifer Bonham.

  • Listing of Postgraduate Students
    POLIS PhD & M.Phil Candidates
    Name Topic
    James Bates
    Napier 519 - 8313 6435
    james.bates@adelaide.edu.au
    "Strengthening the Power of the Transnational Corporation Through the Discourse and Practice of Corporate Social Responsibility"
    Stuti Bhatnagar
    Napier 324 - 8313 7095
    stuti.bhatnager@adelaide.edu.au
    Beverly Beasley
    Off-campus
    beverly.beasley@adelaide.edu.au
    "Political Issues Related to Environmental Degradation in China"
    Christopher Bridge
    Napier 320 - 8313 4637
    christopher.bridge@adelaide.edu.au
    "The European Union as a Foreign Policy Actor"
    Stephen Chan
    Napier 325 - 8313 4530
    stephen.chan@adelaide.edu.au
    "A New Map for Africa?: An Examination of Governance Solutions for the African Continent in the Post-Colonial World"
    Elyse Chapman
    Napier 321 - 83135972
    elyse.chapman@adelaide.edu.au
    Jesse Clark
    Napier 318 - 8313 5156
    jesse.e.clark@adelaide.edu.au
    Lee Cordner
    Off-campus
    lee.cordner@adelaide.edu.au
    "Indian Ocean Maritime Security Governance; Options, Opportunities and Risks"
    Robert Crabtree
    Napier 521 - 8313 5183
    robert.crabtree@adelaide.edu.au
    Bartholomew Csorba
    Napier 328 - 8313 4464
    bartholomew.csorba@adelaide.edu.au
    Alexander Davis
    Napier 321 - 8313 5972
    alexander.e.davis@adelaide.edu.au
    "The Politics of Postcolonial Difference:  India and Australia, 1947-2012"
    Brendan Drew
    Napier 324 - 8313 7095
    brendan.drew@adelaide.edu.au
    "Traditional Thai Culture, Stigmatising Premarital Heterosexual Activity and Silencing Discourse on Sexual Health in Thailand"
    Jessica Edwards
    Napier 324 - 8313 7095
    jessica.edwards@adelaide.edu.au
    "Knowing Me, Knowing Who: Ordering the Subject in Contemporary Western Television"
    Margaret Egudo
    Napier 320 - 8313 4637
    margaret.egudo@adelaide.edu.au
    Glynn Evans
    Napier 320 - 8313 4637
    glynn.evans@adelaide.edu.au
     "Proportional Representation in Theory and Practice - Australia and New Zealand"
    Zoe Gordon
    Napier 521 - 8313 5183
    zoe.gordon@adelaide.edu.au
    "Critical analysis of the Howard Government's construction of the problem of Aboriginal welfare dependency, guided by Postcolonial theory and insights from Poststructuralism and Postmodernism"
    Simon Hall
    Off-campus
    simon.hall@adelaide.edu.au
    Paul Kemp
    Napier 324 - 8313 7095
    paul.kemp@adelaide.edu.au
    "A Critical Analysis of the Influence of Paul Kelly as a Journalist, Historian and Public Intellectual"
    Unaza Khan
    Napier 325 - 8313 4530
    unaza.khan@adelaide.edu.au
    Olivia Kinnear
    Napier 320 - 8313 6437
    olivia.kinnear@adelaide.edu.au
    Adele Lausberg
    Napier 520 - 8313 6439
    adele.lausberg@adelaide.edu.au
    "Cross-Party Collaboration in the Australian Federal Parliament:  Women Politicians Testing the Limits of Institutional Constraints and Enabling Factors"
    James Lisle
    Off-campus
    james.lisle@adelaide.edu.au
    Robert Loring
    Napier 324 - 8313 7095
    robert.loring@adelaide.edu.au
    "Jeremy Bentham's Cosmopolitanism"
    Kieran McCarron
    Napier 521 - 8313 5183
    kieran.mccarron@adelaide.edu.au
    The Political Dynamics of Social Policy making in Australia and New Zealand: Unemployment and Retirement Policy 1980-2013
    Brynley Millward
    Napier 519 - 8313 6435
    brynley.millward@adelaide.edu.au
    David Olney
    Napier 417 - 8313 4606
    david.olney@adelaide.edu.au
    "Existentialism: In Search of a Stable Oscillation"
    Paul Relf-Christopher
    Napier 520 - 8313 6439
    paul.relf-christorpher@adelaide.edu.au
    Guy Richardson
    Napier 324 - 8313 7095
    guy.richardson@adelaide.edu.au
    "Adam Smith's Theory of Moral Order in the Works of Immanuel Kant"
    Katrina Stats
    Napier 416 - 8313 5796
    katrina.stats@adelaide.edu.au
    Nuzhat-E-Ibrat Syeda
    Napier 521 - 8313 5183
    nuzhat-e-ibrat.syeda@adelaide.edu.au
    "Gender Mainstreaming In The Public Service: A Cross-cultural Study Between Australia And Bangladesh"
    Nima Torabi
    Off-campus
    nima.torabi@adelaide.edu.au
    "Liberal movements in Iran during the past 50 years"
    Nicholas Wilkey
    Napier 521 - 8313 5183
    nicholas.wilkey@adelaide.edu.au
    "Suicide Terrorism and Costly Signalling"
    Guanqi Zhou
    Napier 325 - 8313 4530
    Edson Ziso
    Napier 521 - 8313 5183
    edson.ziso@adelaide.edu.au
    "The Emergence of New Global Powers and the Future of Global Governance"
Department of Politics
& International Studies
Address

Ground Floor, Napier Building
THE UNIVERSITY OF ADELAIDE
SA 5005 AUSTRALIA

Contact

T: +61 8 8313 2084
socialsciences@adelaide.edu.au